Home / Awards


SCJA Awards

2016 Award Recipients

Outstanding Educator

Wesley G. Jennings – University of South Florida

Outstanding Graduate Student

Jane Christie Daquin – Georgia State University

Outstanding Undergraduate Student

Samantha Donavan – Georgia State University

Tom Barker Award

No recipient.

Poster Competition

Exploring the influence of media, social media, and other factors for recruiting qualified law enforcement officers for municipal agencies in North Carolina: Preliminary Results, Stedman Smith and Tammatha Clodfelter, Appalachian State University

Outstanding Professional

Chief Reynolds ‘Frank’ Nichols, Starkville Police

Springer Outstanding American Journal of Criminal Justice Article

C. Colin Bolger – Kutztown University

Just Follow Orders: A Meta-Analysis of the Correlates of American Police Officer Use of Force Decisions

Past Award Recipients

Outstanding Educator

2015 Cathy Marcum
2014 J. Heith Copes
2013 J. Mitchell Miller
2012 George Higgins
2011 Elizabeth Mustaine
2010 Margaret Vandiver
2009 David May
2008 Brian Payne
2007 Peter Wood
2006 Mark Lanier
2005 Richard Tewksbury
2004 John Whitehead
2003 Elizabeth Grossi
2002 Ronald Hunter
2001 William Doerner
2000 Terry Edwards
1999 -- no information --
1998 -- no information --
1997 -- no information --
1996 John Smykla

Outstanding Graduate Student

2015 Anthony Vito
2014 Brandy Henderson
2013 Shila Hawk
2012 Julie Baldwin
2011 Nathan Lowe
2010 John Stogner
2009 Matthew DeMichele
2008 J. C. Barnes
2007 Wesley Jennings
2006 Deeanna M. Button
2005 Alison Brumley
2004 Holly E. Ventura
2003 Jeffrey Allen Tipton
2002 Trent Eric Ikerd
2001 Deanna McGaughey
2000 Julie Kunselman
1999 -- no information --
1998 -- no information --
1997 -- no information --
1996 -- no information --
1995 J. Mitchell Miller

Outstanding Undergraduate Student

2015 Kati Andrews
2014 Samantha Zaleski
2013 Lindsay Leban
2012 Tonya Harris
2011 Emily Nelson
2010 Donald Hunt
2009 Nianni Ramos
2008 Jessica Ekhomu
2007 Ted Gibson
2006 Demica Montoye Burks
2005 Matthew Lees
2004 Shelly Higdon
2003 William Michael Doerner
2002 Richard Keith Leatherwood, Jr.
2001 Valerie Dorsey
2000 no award given

Tom Barker Award

2015 Roland Turner
2014 Hoai Robinette

Outstanding Professional

2015 James Wheeler
2014 Adrienne Stroble
2013 Monty Burks
2012 Judge Casey Rodgers
2011 Molly Secours
2010 Stephen Haas
2009 Vernon M. Keenan
2008 Chris Summers
2007 Yolanda Cornish
2006 David Toomer & Elizabeth O. Adams
2005 David Thompson
2004 Roy Cooper
2003 Deborah Y. Faulkner
2002 Bob Kennedy
2001 Eddie J. Jordan, Jr.
2000 Robert L. Johnson

Springer Outstanding American Journal of Criminal Justice Article

2015 Joshua C. Hinkle

"Emotional Fear of Crime vs. Perceived Safety and Risk: Implications for Measuring 'Fear' and Testing the Broken Windows Thesis"

2014 J. Mitchell Miller

Identifying Collateral Effects of Offender Reentry Programming Through Evaluative Fieldwork

2013 Heili Pals and Howard B. Kaplan

Long-Term Effects of Adolescent Negative Self-Feelings on Adult Deviance: Moderated by Neighborhood Disadvantage, Mediated by Expectations

2012 Jeremy R. Porter, Nicole E. Rader & Jeralynn S. Cossman

Social Disorganization and Neighborhood Fear: Examining the Intersection of Individual, Community, and County Characteristics

2011 Holly Ventura Miller

Acculturation, Social Context, and Drug Use: Findings from a Sample of Hispanic Adolescents

2010 Tina L. Freiburger, Catherine D. Marcum, & Mari Pierce

The Impact of Race on the Pretrial Decision

2009 Angela R. Gover, Wesley G. Jennings, & Richard Tewksbury

Adolescent Male and Female Gang Members' Experiences with Violent Victimization,
Dating Violence, and Sexual Assault

Richter H. Moore, Jr. Founder's Award

2010 Damon Camp
2005 Mittie Southerland
2001 Charles "Chuck" Fields
1995 Tom Barker
date missing Richter H. Moore, Jr.

The SCJA is continuing to reconstruct lists of earlier award winners. Please forward any information to
the webmaster.


Share This