

CALL FOR NOMINATIONS For 2020 SCJA Awards

All nominations should be submitted by email to the chair of the respective award committees by May 15, 2020 (also CC the 2nd Vice President at <u>marcumcm@appstate.edu</u>). Association officers are not eligible for awards.

Outstanding Educator Award

This award recognizes one criminal justice educator for outstanding academic achievement in teaching, research, and service. The recipient of the award is selected on the basis of overall contributions to higher education in criminal justice. Nominees must be members in good standing of SCJA. Nominations should include the nominee's Curriculum Vita and supportive letters. The winner will receive a lifetime membership to the association.

Committee Chair: Bruce Arrigo (brarrigo@uncc.edu)

Outstanding Professional Award

This award recognizes a practitioner in the field of criminal justice for outstanding contributions. Nominees must currently serve in a criminal justice-related position within the Southern region. Nominations should include a nominating letter detailing the nominee's record of achievement and the nominee's resume. The winner will receive an honorarium to attend the conference.

Committee Chair: Brian Schaefer (brian.schaefer@indstate.edu)

Richter H. Moore, Jr. Founder's Award

This award recognizes a SCJA member for *sustained* and *exceptional* contributions to the Southern Criminal Justice Association. It is not the intention that this award be given out each year or even every few years for that matter. Rather this highly selective and rarely given award is intended to be bestowed to a SCJA member after a lifetime achievement of service to the SCJA (send nominations to: Cathy Marcum; marcumcm@appstate.edu)

Outstanding Student Awards

The Southern Criminal Justice Association recognizes exemplary student achievement through four awards. Eligibility for each award is limited to students currently enrolled (or graduates who were enrolled through May 1, 2019) in schools within the Southern region. Each nomination must contain a description of the nominee's accomplishments (in areas such as scholarship, leadership, public service, etc.). The nomination should include the nominee's grade point average and additional information sufficient to answer the following question: "In what ways has this student contributed to his/her academic program, college and/or community?"

- Tom Barker Outstanding Undergraduate Student Award¹ (Committee Chair: Amanda Cook; <u>acook@meridian.msstate.edu</u>)
- Outstanding Masters Student^{1,2} (Committee Chair: Christina Policastro; <u>Christina-Policastro@utc.edu</u>)
- Outstanding Doctoral Student^{1,2} (Committee Chair: Rhys Hester; <u>RHYSH@clemson.edu</u>)
- Outstanding Student Poster Award^{1,3} (Committee Chair: Courtney Crittenden; <u>Courtney-Crittenden@utc.edu</u>)

Student winners receive a financial stipend to defray cost of travel. They must attend the conference to receive these funds.
Masters and Doctoral student awards include a free 3-year membership in addition to the financial stipend. Winners may pay the difference between the 3-year and lifetime membership rate if they wish to upgrade to a lifetime membership.
Nominations are not necessary for the poster competition. Posters are judged at the annual conference. A student must be the lead author on the poster/study and attend the conference. The committee will select 2 winners. Each will be awarded \$500.